I m very happy, because I get a new Movado watch from my parents, but on my first day of high school, I saw a boy from my class walking back home after school on the front of that statue of omega watch. His name was David. He was carrying his books. As I was walking, I saw a group of kids running towards him, knocking all his books out of his arms. And then they ran away. David fell down and his watch replica went flying. He looked up and I saw sadness in his eyes. I helped him and said, “The kids with bad manners should be punished.” There was a big smile that showed real gratitude on his face.
From then on, we became friends. The more I got to know David, the more I liked him. Over the next four years, we always studied and played together and had a happy time.

On graduation day, I could see that he was nervous about his speech. So I said, “Graduation is a time to thank those who helped you push through those difficult years---our parents, our teachers, but mostly our friends. Being a friend to someone is the best gift you can give them. I’ll tell you a story.” I just looked at the handsome popular boy in amazement as he told the story of the first day we met.
Everyone was surprised to hear all about his hardest moment. I saw his parents looking at me and smiling. Not until that moment did I realize its deep meaning.




Leave a Reply.